Animal Adventures, Charity, children's story, Out With Animals

Lizzy the Lizard: Part 1

Hello

My name is Lizzy the Lizard, and I went to Cyprus on my recent adventure with the Nurse and the Maths Mind. I wasn’t technically invited to go with them, but the UK has been pretty cold at the moment and I really needed some sun, so when I heard they were going, I decided to sneak through their window and into their suitcase as a stowaway.

IMG_0565

IMG_0566

IMG_0567

They didn’t realise until we got on the monorail at the airport, but they didn’t seem too bothered!

IMG_0568

Fortunately, I remembered to bring my passport with me.

IMG_0572

We checked the departure board and had a bit of time before our flight…

IMG_0570

…so we managed to get a good breakfast beforehand.

IMG_0571

I’ve never been on a plane before, so I was a little bit worried. The Nurse suggested we go downstairs and watch the planes taking off and landing to calm my nerves before getting our flight.

IMG_0574

They’re huge, particularly as I’m a very small lizard! We started to board the plane, but there was a problem with the luggage so we got delayed. Some people were angry, but I wasn’t bothered because it was sunny, meaning I could lie in the sun and get my lizard blood warm.

IMG_0582

We flew with a company called ‘Monarch’, so I thought we might get to see the Queen! But we didn’t 😦 I got my own seat by the window though.

IMG_0583

There was a short safety announcement about what to do if the plane crashed, which made me feel nervous again!

IMG_0598

But then a flight attendant started offering us drinks and snacks, so I got distracted by all the different choices. I tried to sneak extras, but she caught me!

IMG_0605

When we landed, we had to wait for our bags…

IMG_0612

…before being collected in a car from the airport by the Nurse’s family.

IMG_0720

I have to admit, I was a bit scared about meeting them. The Nurse and the Maths Mind told me that one of them was a Dragon. Dragons are even bigger than Lizards, and kind of like our version of a King or Queen, so you have to be really respectful. Plus they can breathe fire! Except, it turned out that’s a nickname for her- she’s actually a woman and not a Dragon. Phew! She played hide and seek with me in their garden, along with the Nurse and the Maths Mind.

IMG_0616

I wasn’t very good to start with, they found me too easily in this olive tree. I started getting the hang of it- can you see me in this fig tree?

IMG_0613

If I hide in green things, it makes it hard to find me. Like in this orange tree:

IMG_0619

or the lemon tree:

IMG_0609

I was particularly proud of this one:

IMG_0617

And this one:

IMG_0618

Did you see me?! I’ll give you a clue- I’m in the green bit, but near the bottom. I’ve discovered that the Nurse *really* likes taking photos, because once we were done playing hide and seek, he made me pose with some flowers…

IMG_0614

… and next to the swimming pool. Lizards don’t swim, but it was nice to do some lizard bathing (like sunbathing).

IMG_0610

Considering how much we’d done in one day, the Dragon suggested we have some food.

IMG_0647

This is called Pork Slovaki in a pitta bread. I’m not entirely sure what Slovaki is, but it tasted quite nice! Then I had some traditional Cypriot coffee, which was suuuuupppper strong!

IMG_0648

It gave me so much energy that the Nurse said I had to go for a walk along the sea front to try and get rid of some of it- otherwise I wouldn’t ever go to sleep!

IMG_0627

I really liked the sandy beach, it was good for lizard bathing.

IMG_0630

I got a bit of a fright when I turned around and saw some lions! But they turned out to be friendly ones. I told them about my really strong coffee and they suggested having honey balls or cake for pudding next time instead.

IMG_0633

We’d had a really busy day, but there was a bit more time for some hide and seek on the walk back to the Dragon’s house:

IMG_0643

IMG_0636

IMG_0640

The Maths Mind got tired- he didn’t even notice when I snuck up on him!

IMG_0642

I’ll write the second part of my adventure soon- it involves skeletons, more food and animals, trains and Easter! Bye for now!

4 thoughts on “Lizzy the Lizard: Part 1”

Leave a Reply

