Animal Adventures, Charity, children's story, Out With Animals

Pablo the Panda

Hola!

My name is Pablo the Panda and I’ve been on an adventure to Spain. Pandas aren’t usually associated with Spain, but my mummy panda really liked the country when she visited so she gave me a Spanish name. When Cate said she was going on holiday to Spain, I jumped at the chance! (well, pandas aren’t good at jumping, but I was very excited!)

Cate helped me pack. I didn’t know much about Spain so I packed as many things as I could, just in case. Cate said it was a good job I wasn’t a grizzly bear because their luggage would have to be three times as big since they’re huge in comparison to me!

Although Spain isn’t too far away from England, we got there quite late so we headed to bed, ready to explore properly the next morning.

My mummy panda said one of the best things about Spain in comparison to England is the fact that you can swim in a swimming pool outside. The weather in the U.K. doesn’t usually get hot enough to be able to swim comfortably without turning blue (not a good look for a panda), but in Spain it gets so warm in the day they have a little nap in the afternoon, called a siesta.

Napping in the middle of the day and swimming outside? I could get used to this!

Cate took me to see the pool. I loved the blue colour.

In Spain they have rules about what you can and can’t wear in the pool, which we don’t have in the UK. So apparently I needed to buy some flip flops to walk around the poolside! Cate found it funny that I’d managed to bring so much luggage but not bring any flip flops!

There was a lot of choice, but I went for green ones with white flowers in the end.

All this walking around made me hot, so Cate said I should stand in the shade to cool down a bit.

It’s a palm tree! I’d never seen a palm tree before! They only grow in warm, sunny places. I was still really hot so Cate leant me her fan.

My panda family originally came from China, and this fan is very similar to the ones we use in China. We like really decorative things which have lots of detail in them.

It got cooler in the evening, so we went downstairs from our hotel and played pool. I was confused because I thought we’d be playing a game in the swimming pool but pool is also a game which you play with a stick (a cue) and lots of coloured balls.

On our last day there, we spent most of the time chilling out and relaxing because it was too hot to do anything else!

I can see why my mummy panda likes Spain so much- it’s warm and sunny and the people are friendly. And you can swim outside! Thank you very much to Cate for taking me there and for looking after me. I’m looking forward to seeing what my next adventure brings!

Leave a comment